Make your routes load more quickly and take up less space on your GPS device by using our new Reduce Points feature to shrink the size of your route with very minimal loss of accuracy. The new feature works by removing redundant points that fall in a straight line between two other points and therefore add no value to the definition of the route. Typically the number of points plotted can be reduced by 50% with just a 0.02% loss of accuracy, well within the level of accuracy that you can achieve by plotting manually on an online map.
The Reduce Points feature is available for larger routes with 3000 points or more and is an option when you come to save your route. You can easily experiment with different levels of reduction before saving your route to see how this affects both the number of points plotted and the measured distance.
I'm not seeing this option when saving a route.
Hi Heather - The Reduce Points feature is available for larger routes with 3000 points or more, so you won't see it for shorter or less complex routes.