This should be fixed now. Thanks again for reporting this.
Thanks for flagging this up Martyn - we'll look into it and get a fix sorted.
I've just been reminded of an unexpected consequence of pressing 'Return' when entering directions... all of the directions added since the last save of the route are easily lost.
To see this:
Admittedly, in putting this report together I've noticed a 'Continue editing your unsaved route' button but a) this still loses the last direction entered and b) every time it's happened to me in the past, I've never noticed this 'escape' option and have lost all my editing!
The main point is that pressing 'Return' is a very common shortcut to pressing 'OK' or 'Save' so it's not an unexpected thing to do. Perversly, having entered a string of directions corretly clicking Save each time, I tend to hit 'Return' triumfantly after the very last one and loose everything!
I simply suggest making 'Retrun' do the obvious thing... i.e. act as a shortcut for 'Save'.