Bugs and Problems Forum

No premium features availableFORUMS HOME SEARCH FORUMS

Total posts in this topic: 7
Showing newest posts first - Show oldest first
Sign in to post to this topicSIGN IN

    Page: 
    • 1
  • Photo
    Dr P Woodward-Court   Tuesday 05 Nov 2019 15:57:36

    Clearly you understand the inner workings of your product and I don't, but your response surprises me. Whenever I am asked on an email by an organisation I use to complete a survey seeking my opinion about their product, and agree to take the survey, a webpage with the questions opens up. 99 times out of 100, as you complete the survey, it doesn't simply leave you on the 'thanks you for completing the survey' page, but 'magically' the thank you webpage closes and you find yourself on the organisation's home page. I therefore assumed that the redicrection process for premium users would be fairly easy to automate in a similar manner - and thereby reduce the number of emails you receive from premium users complaining that the premium features don't work, becasue they, like me, hadn't realised that although logged in, they weren't using the premium URL!

  • Photo
    plotaroute admin   Monday 04 Nov 2019 16:15:07

    Sadly it's not as simple as that.  The Standard and Premium route planners are entirely separate products developed using different technologies.  The Switch button you're referring doesn't execute any code - it only redirects you from the Standard route planner to the Premium one. To ensure you have access to Premium features, it is best to sign in via the home page or the dedicated sign in page before you start using the site.

  • Photo
    Dr P Woodward-Court   Monday 04 Nov 2019 09:15:00

    I am no computer coder, but when you click the switch button, you are presumably just executing some code. Is it really impossible to to set up a conditional statement along the lines of 'when someone signs in, and is found to be a premium user, look to see if they are using the standard program then execute the same code if they are?

  • Photo
    plotaroute admin   Monday 04 Nov 2019 07:43:37

    That wouldn't be possible I'm afraid - although the two versions of the route planner look almost identitical, behind the scenes they use different technologies, so we have to reload the page after you have signed in to a Premium account to switch to the Premium version. That's why we recommend signing in first.

  • Photo
    Dr P Woodward-Court   Sunday 03 Nov 2019 23:28:03

    Surely it is much, much better to code the product so that as soon as a subscriber logins in, regardless of whether or not they have undertaken any previous activity, all the premium features are properly enabled immediately and witjout having to find and click switch or create a new route, thereby risking losing previous plotting?!!!

  • Photo
    plotaroute admin   Thursday 24 Oct 2019 11:13:00

    We have two different route planners, so you''ll need to switch to the Premium version after signing in to access the Premium features if you don't sign in before launching the route planner.  Once you've signed in you'll see a button labelled "SWITCH" next to where it says "Standard Route Planner" in the top left above the map - this will redirect you to the Premium version. It's better to sign in first though, before you load the route planner, then you won't need to do this.

  • Photo
    Topic
    Creator
    Florian Hoornaar   Thursday 24 Oct 2019 10:03:33

    I do the following:

    1. Go to plotaroute.com (do not log on)
    2. Create a route
    3. Log on
    4. Click on the street view icon

    What happens: I am asked to upgrade to premium

    What I expected: To see the street view, since I am already premium

    Workaround: Create a new route and all works well

     

Page: 
  • 1